h1

Heartfelt poem shared at Chicago’s Inaugural Promise Walk

May 28, 2010

My name is Laura Meindel. On November 16, 2009, I admitted myself to L&D, and it was there that we heard the words “I’m sorry your baby has passed.” Within what seemed like minutes I was diagnosed with severe preeclampsia and HELLP syndrome. I was almost 31 weeks pregnant. My daughter Cara Angel was born sleeping the very next day November 17th. She was 2 lbs. 11 oz., 16 in. and perfect. Preeclampsia took my daughter’s life and almost my own. I have realized more than ever how precious life is and how quickly it can be taken from us. This poem I wrote is for all those whose lives have been touched by this horrible disease.

My Mom is a Survivor
By: Laura Meindel

My mom is a survivor
She’s left with this pain
She no longer has me to hold
She smiles through all the rain

My mom is a survivor
She fought it through
My mom is now here
With both me and you

My mom is a survivor
She smile and sings
Praise of the hope and happiness
I will always bring

My mom was a survivor
she tried and tried
You took her from me
You stole and lied

My mom was a survivor
but just for short while
she almost made it
now will never see her smile

All our moms are survivors
Not a single story alike
Moms bring us all together and help us fight

Fight for a cure
Fight for happiness
Fight for hope
Fight for bliss

Help us above with wings shine our light
Our moms are all survivors please help them fight

Leave a Reply

