h1

Team “Remembering Charlotte” Makes Memories at the Cranford, NJ Promise Walk

January 24, 2017

larissa-nickson-pw2016

Larissa Nickson is the team captain of “Remembering Charlotte” with the Cranford, NJ Promise Walk for Preeclampsia. It will be their third year walking in the event in memory of their infant daughter Charlotte, who passed away due to severe preeclampsia. Since then, she and her husband have become volunteers to help organize the event while also being outspoken advocates for preeclampsia awareness and research!

Learn more about what drives Team “Remembering Charlotte” to continue participating year-after-year in their local North-Central New Jersey Promise Walk.

  1. How did your family and team first get involved with the Preeclampsia Foundation? My family and I became involved in the preeclampsia walk in late 2014 and participated in our first walk in 2015. My husband and I lost our daughter, Charlotte, due to severe preeclampsia at 20 weeks pregnant and in my search for information and answers, I found the Promise Walks and reached out to see how I could become involved.
  2. Why is raising awareness and supporting research for preeclampsia so important to you? Raising awareness and supporting research for preeclampsia is important to me because I don’t want anyone else to ever experience what I went through. Preeclampsia can have such a devastating impact on families, whether loss of mother or baby, strokes, seizures, or lengthy NICU stays. Not to mention the long term consequences of these and the research showing that developing preeclampsia may cause risks for the mothers health in the future as well. I love that the Promise Walks help raise money for education and research because as important as research to find a cause/cure is, education is equally important until those answers are found.
  3. How has the Promise Walk and the Preeclampsia Foundation helped you and your family as you moved through your experience? When I first found the foundation, I was grieving the loss of my daughter. Joining the walk gave me a way to grieve in a healthy way by sharing my story, connecting to others with similar experiences, and raising money for a cause so that others will not have to face the severe consequences of this condition.
  4. What would you say to people who are NOT currently participating in the walk to get them involved? I would say, “get involved!”  The Promise Walks are fun and help to raise money for a good cause. The more people involved in the walks leads to more awareness in the community and, hopefully, increases in donations and funding for research.

To join Team “Remembering Charlotte” and other advocates in North-Central New Jersey on Sunday, May 21, 2017 at Oak Ridge Park in Clark, NJ, visit www.promisewalk.org/Cranford. Registration is free!

Leave a Reply

