h1

Team McFadden Kicks it Up in Chicago

February 7, 2017

melissa-mcfadden

Melissa McFadden is passionate about preeclampsia education and research. She has been involved with the Chicago Promise Walk and 5K Run for Preeclampsia now for 3 years. Her team, Team McFadden, celebrates their experience as preeclampsia survivors. Here’s why she “Makes Strides”:

How did your family and team first get involved with the Preeclampsia Foundation?   After having preeclampsia with my daughter in 2013, one of my friends who had previously had preeclampsia added me to a Facebook group she was in.  In the group, I started asking questions, and finding that I wasn’t getting a ton of answers since we aren’t 100% sure what causes preeclampsia.  Knowing that, I knew I had to get involved.  I wanted answers!  it was there that I found out about the Preeclampsia Foundation and the Promise Walk.

Why is raising awareness and supporting research for preeclampsia so important to you?  My experience with preeclampsia came on suddenly.  While it was initially going on, I just thought I was tired and feeling pregnant.  If not for a friend urging me to have my BP checked, things could have turned out very differently for us.  This is why raising awareness is so important- women need to know the signs and symptoms, and doctors need to take the signs and symptoms seriously!  I’ve said it already, but my daughter and I are so lucky- I have met so many wonderful families who were not as lucky.

How has the Promise Walk and the Preeclampsia Foundation helped you and your family as you moved through your experience?  I think knowing that you aren’t alone and that you aren’t the only one who has been through this is a great help to the healing process. My fellow volunteers with the Chicago Promise Walk are truly a sisterhood.  The women I have met through volunteering are women who I am proud to call my friends.  We will be bonded together for the rest of our lives because of preeclampsia/HELLP syndrome.  I love that we are there for each other to celebrate Rainbow Babies or celebrate our walk over wine and dinner.  We are there to give each other baby advice or just to talk to each other about how life is going.  I love these women!

What would you say to people who are NOT currently participating in the walk to get them involved?  Join us!  Join the sisterhood!  You don’t have to go through this alone!  We welcome you with open arms!  We want to see this disease eradicated!  More people means more awareness and more funds raised to hopefully find a cure!  We would love to have you!!

You can join Melissa and her fellow team captains by registering for the Chicago Promise Walk and 5K Run happening on Sunday, May 21, 2017 at www.promisewalk.org/Chicago.

 

Leave a Reply

