h1

Team Peanut’s Pack Raises Preeclampsia Awareness in Indy

February 28, 2017

jacki-caudill-indianapolis-2016

Jackie Caudill leads “Team Peanut’s Pack” for the Indianapolis, IN Promise Walk for Preeclampsia. A team captain since the 2015 event, it’s her honor to get to share her story this year as the 2017 Mission Family for the Indy Promise Walk. As this year’s face of preeclampsia, the Caudill family will lead the Indianapolis Promise Walk campaign by sharing their compelling childbirth story, and encouraging teams around the city to meet or exceed their fundraising goals.

1. How did your family and team first get involved with the Preeclampsia Foundation?
Our family and team became involved with the Preeclampsia Foundation and the Promise Walk for Preeclampsia through an old college friend who also went through preeclampsia with her child. Before she mentioned it to me, I had no idea that the foundation even existed.
2. Why is raising awareness and supporting research for preeclampsia so important to you?
I think it is important to raise awareness for preeclampsia because like myself and many others, it is unheard of and not talked about. I had no idea what preeclampsia even was or what signs to look for while pregnant. I had never known anyone before with this issue until it happened to myself. Once it happened to me and my story was shared, many others became aware of what to look for and how to handle it. I have enjoyed being able to help others through our story.
3. How has the Promise Walk and the Preeclampsia Foundation helped you and your family as you moved through your experience?
I think that the Promise Walk and the Preeclampsia Foundation have helped my family and myself move through the experience by being able to spread awareness to others. I like that we are able to share our story with others who have been in the same situation and don’t have hope for expanding their family anymore. Because we have been able to continue our lives after experiencing preeclampsia and the devastation that come along with a preemie, we are able to shed a light on the situation to others. Our second child was born almost term and therefore gives other women hope that it is possible. I also enjoy reading others stories of success on the foundation page as well as hearing stories at the walk each year.
4. What would you say to people who are NOT currently participating in the walk to get them involved?
I would tell people that even if they haven’t experienced preeclampsia themselves, that I’m sure someone they love has or will someday. It is more common then we think and is a life-threatening disease that more people need to be made aware of.
You can join Jackie and Team Peanut’s Pack at the Indianapolis Promise Walk for Preeclampsia coming up on Saturday, June 3, 2017 at the Plainfield Parks and Rec Center by registering for free at www.promisewalk.org/Indianapolis.
Leave a Reply

