h1

Team Eloise Rose Spreads Awareness and Love in Cleveland

March 21, 2017
2016 Eloise Rose Team
In October 2015, Abigail Price and her families’ lives were forever changed when her baby daughter, Eloise, died because of preeclampsia. She and her team, Eloise Rose, walk in the Promise Walk in Cleveland, Ohio to keep their connection to their precious girl alive and well.

How did your family and team get involved with the Preeclampsia Foundation?
My family and I became involved with the Preeclampsia Foundation after my daughter, Eloise, died because of preeclampsia, and I came very close. I was on bed rest for several months, and since I was NEVER educated about preeclampsia during my pregnancy, I decided to do my own research. I happened upon the Preeclampsia Foundation’s website. I found the Preeclampsia Registry, the Promise Walk, and so much more information that I should have received the second my doctor said my water retention/swelling wasn’t normal.
Why is raising awareness and supporting research for preeclampsia important to you?
Raising awareness and supporting research for preeclampsia is incredibly important to my family and I because I don’t want other families to experience the heartbreak that we go through on a daily basis. Living without your child is hard. It’s hard on your marriage, it’s hard on your social life, it affects every aspect of your life. Another reason we are so passionate about raising awareness and supporting research is that should we be able to bring a living child home, I don’t want to experience preeclampsia ever again.
How has the Promise Walk and the Preeclampsia Foundation helped you and your family as you moved through your experience?
The Promise Walk and the Preeclampsia Foundation have helped my family and I feel more connected to Eloise. My husband and I don’t get to parent Ellie in a traditional way. Her grandparents don’t get to love on her and babysit whenever they want to. By participating in the Promise Walk, now being a co-coordinator, it gives us all a way to parent Ellie. It doesn’t look like most people’s idea of what parenting is, but for us, it’s what we have. And we give it everything we’ve got!
What would you say to people who are NOT currently participating in the walk to get them involved?
Chances are you know someone who has experienced preeclampsia. By participating in your local Promise Walk or participating as a virtual walker, you are showing that person(s) you support them. You recognize the trauma they went through. You are saying “I love you, I am here for you!”
One comment

  1. Oh my gosh this is sad. I wrote a book this year to process my experience with preeclampsia. It really shakes your world up and I’m grateful to be alive with a healthy daughter. I wish more people were aware of it! ❤



Leave a Reply

